Days of our Lives!

May 27, 2005

The First Week of Training

Filed under: My Dayz,work(place) — Santhosh @ 8:07 PM

The last 2 days have been total fun… atleast for me… yesterday we had communication and presentation once again… i’ve finally arrived at ibm… got a couple of ‘excellent santhosh’ yesterday :-)… right now everyone knows my name and about me… even our group HR knows my name now…

Got into a couple of nice (heated) discussions wit the guy in charge… we had a GD and he was crazy enough to tel that i was better than others… :-)… actually my batch is pretty much made up of techies… i’m the chatter box here too… not chattering away with just my group but with the whole class… in our batch of 28, about 20 are permanently silent and only i and another mumbai guy from NIT Calicut speak out… but there was an instant when a ques of ‘what comes to mind for java’ was asked, there was an eruption… there were about a hundred answers from others and i could make out nothing…

We had this nice session yesterday when we were asked to speak for about a minute and it was recorded on tape… The tape was then run and others were asked to give feedback on them… I kept on and on to such an extent tat the guy who runs the program(his name is balu) actually askd me to take charge for the afternoon session… i loved it… balu and i were chatting in the evening and he told me i should have gone for an MBA instead…

Today we had ‘CROSS CULTURAL ETIQUETTE’ as the programme… today was even better than yesterday for me as i sorta knew most of the stuff about the culture in other countries due to my reading of novels… The trainer today was a MS.REKHA MATHEW… I think I talkd more today in class to the one taking the class than in my entire college life… We also had a short session on table manners while eating and also about different wine and wine glasses… Seems there are about 10-15 diff spoons and knives and stuff for eating… We had a skit in the afternoon where we were askd to represent cultures of diff countries… my group of 6 got italy and our’s was voted the best…

so my life here has got off with the usual bang… i just hope it takes a slightly better course than my college life as there too i got known immediately and got those ‘excellent santhosh’ initially(1st sem)…

tomo we have something called configuration management by balu again… i think i’ll have to maintain the tempo as this is my time now… from next week it’ll be RDBMS and oracle and java and WSAD… the techies will take over…

climate’s really great… it rains everyday from 5 to 8 with a slight drizzle after that… tomo’s the last day here in this ibm office… from next week we have to report to a contracted comp center near airport road for a month of tech training… got loads to study…

also congrats for the reval results… seems like our coll has finally come to its senses…

nothing more 4 now…
wil keep u posted…

c ya
cheers….
santhosh

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

