Days of our Lives!

April 14, 2007

The God Debate – or rather, the Christ debate.

Filed under: My Cup of Socie-Tea — Santhosh @ 1:28 PM

Ever since I read God’s Debris, one of my favourite books ever, I’ve been on the lookout for more of the same topics – religion, God, atheism, historical relevances…. Not sure why, but topics on the like – be it theology or atheism or agnosticism -seem to strike a chord. No, not the inane material that we get as mail forwards about the greatness of Christ, I’m talking about intelligent discussions where two mature people talk about their beliefs and try to bring down the other’s without breaking heads with stools. Maybe it’s just that I seem to like controversial issues being discussed from both sides of the river, maybe it’s just that I just enjoy intelligent conversation, or maybe because it’s something closer to me and what I’ve always had to tell anyways to defend my ideologies. Anyways, just came across this article, a debate between pastor Rick Warren and atheist Sam Harris, where they discuss about the (wrong) way Americans look at religion – Christ as the only God.

An atheist myself, I can identify with most of what Harris comes up with against our religious dogmas and anachronisms. Nothing surprising there. I should be able to, what with all those debates I have had on the same topic ever since i stepped out of my nappies. As with all debates, this one too has arguments that are as silly as the rest are brilliant. Read on.

And by the way, I’m still perfectly normal, at least as normal as I can be. I can see you raising your brows at me – went for a trek to the Himalayas, is reading up on theology and the meaning of life, and is blogging about atheism and the will of God. Believe me, am not yet there on the “All life is but an illusion” stage. Almost. Not quite.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

